An extra day off work is great, but it’s especially good for the working nursing mom. It means one more full day of nursing during the week. One more full day of bonding with baby (and her two sisters). I’m one of the luckiest women on the planet, my wonderful husband has done the dishes and most of the cooking and the laundry this weekend, so I could spend time with the baby and the toddler (the teenager has been either in her room or at a sleepover with a friend *sigh*).

Last night I had an epiphany. I love my job as an accountant and I love the people I work with. But I think I might take the next few years and do some work as a lactation consultant. There are classes I can take and I’m sure there are some lactation groups around here I can get involved with for my service requirements for the IBCLC. When the youngest girls are teenagers I might go for my midwifery license, as well. I guess it’s taking the earth mommy thing to the extreme, but I think it would make me very happy. And training will take a long long time and will not take away from my job. The LC thing can be done at night and on weekends. I love the idea of being able to help other women, as I have been helped with my girls. The whole paying forward thing, I guess.

Friday, I upped my Fenugreek from one capsule two times a day, to two capsules three times a day. So I can’t wait to see how it’s affected my milk supply when I pump next. I guess a trail run today would be good, to let ya’ll know how it’s working. I’ve also added one capsule of Saw Palmetto in the mornings – it is for men, but will also help regrow milk ducts. More milk ducts, more milk 🙂

