My husband and I were talking the other day about The Duggers, you know, the family in Arkansas who have 18 kids. And then about the mom of the new Octuplets, who has six other children at home already.

This started a discussion about what I think of as “super families”. You know, those families who have double digit family size.

Which makes me think about all the ASPC cases of animal collectors. The ones about crazy cat ladies, etc.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not saying the Duggers do not take care of their kids. By all accounts they take excellent care of all those kids. But I do think having that many kids may be considered a form of collecting.

Now, I love all three of my kids, and even wanted a few more, in fact, I thin it would be fair to say that if my health hadn’t been a big factor – as well as finances – that I, too, would have been in danger of becoming a baby collector. After all, I am the seventh of nine children. However, I knew it would be detrimental to my health, a burden on our budget and I am getting too old that the chances of birth defects are too high for our comfort. We would welcome a child with any birth defects, but I think it would be selfish of us to take that chance, condemning a child in essence, just because I love being pregnant and love having kids running around. After the age of 40, we both agreed the odds were too far out of reasonablity for the health of future children, so I had a tubal. Of course, that isn’t 100% effective and the possiblity of another pregnancy is there – and I can’t say with all honesty I wouldn’t be thrilled to feel another little one inside of me, squirming around happily.

So the future path of our lives is still unforseen. And baby collecting for us is still not out of the question.

