Hubby and I were having one of those conversations this weekend.  You know, the “what if” game.  Everyone has these, right?  Bueller?  Bueller?

Topic of the day this time around was places to live.  We love living in a small place like Hartsville.  Hubby spent a good portion of his childhood living right here (he graduation from Hartsville High and got his Bachelors from Coker College).  I, on the other hand, grew up in Charlotte, in a tiny little country part of the city (it was annexed into the city when I was in my late teens, nowadays it’s pretty much citified and too big for its britches).  I LOVE small towns.  By the time we moved here I was totally hating the city I loved and grew up in.  (Hubby likes to point out Charlotte is more of a “little NYC” than a “little Atlanta” nowadays.)

We occasionally talk about places to live when we’re old.  The beach is pretty much on both our plates, though some place like the Keys or even Mexico.  But, this time, we were talking about somewhere to raise kids and work.  He, of course, would be the instigator of any move we perform.  He has to go where the work is, and, in the library world, that’s limited to which systems would be willing to pay him a fair wage.  For me, it would have to be somewhere I could raise the kids without fear of my surroundings.  My work is virtual and I homeschool, so I can settle down just about anywhere.

On the other hand, we have done SO MUCH WORK to this house and the land it is on that it would be very difficult to let it go.  Our peach trees have little peaches growing, for goodness sakes!  How could we leave all of our baby fruit trees?  Plus, what about the chickens?  You can pretty much move anywhere with dogs and cats, but chickens are difficult in some parts of the USA.

Of course, if it is a wonderful opportunity for my husband, that’s what matters.  Material possessions are great, but it is family that counts.  If he was offered something in the distant future (remember, this is the what if game, not something to be actively pursued) then I would follow him to the ends of the earth.  He is what matters, not chickens, not peach trees, not unfinished and finished household improvements.

So, it’s your turn to play.  What if you SO was offered a job somewhere else?  Where would be your ideal location?

