kissing

Marie Claire Asks If Overweight Couples Should Kiss Only In Private

I have been going back and forth about whether or not to write about this very hot topic of  a blog post on Marie Claire’s Website which started out about a tv show and people “with rolls and rolls of fat kissing each other” and went on to say “I think obesity is something that most people have a ton of control over. It’s something they can change, if only they put their minds to it.”  I write mostly about local events/places and parenting and homesteading and slow food.  Though I suppose this could, in the other writer’s eye, have something to do with food.

The piece’s author, Maura Kelly, has publicly apologized for the post, which has so far garnered over 1100 comments (most of them calling her a bully, a sizest and some even getting very personal and nasty).  When I first learned of the article Tuesday night and read the article I was livid, I admit it.  I have had three children and have been on strong antidepressants.  I am overweight.  Not because of what or how much I eat, but because of the pregnancy weight I haven’t lost on top of medication which is proven to cause weight gain.  No amount of “putting my mind to it” will change these facts.  Luckily, my doctor switched my medications and I am on the road to weight loss, but it has nothing to do with will power and my eating or exercise habits.

But what has upset me the most, and what has really prompted me to write this post, isn’t so much that Ms. Kelly feels the way she does, it’s the fact that someone in the Marie Claire ranks approved this article.  Not only did someone in Marie Claire approve this article, they are unabashedly unapologetic about about posting an article which bashes overweight people.

I do not buy this magazine, or any like it.  I believe these publications give the teenage and young adult women of our country a bad body image ideal, one model was allegedly fired for being a size 4.  The fashion industry sets it’s plus sized modeling for a size 6.  More to the point, my 17 year old daughter who DOES read magazines such as this, thinks she is fat because she is a size 8!  Way to go fashionistas and designers of the USA!  You are promoting anorexia better than Twiggy ever believed possible.  Between magazines which feel the need to photoshop already skinny models, to sizing standards for models, to the authors of articles such as this one which makes overweight people feel ashamed and worsens their already low body images, our young people are set on the cusp to make eating and exercise disorders the new drain on America’s healthcare.

To paraphrase a well-known quote: All it takes is for one person to remain quiet.  I am through being quiet.  What about you?

