When I was a kid we would occasionally get Spaghetti Os for lunch.  Like fast food, this was a treat for us.  When I moved into my own apartment, I discovered the joys of living off such cheap and convenient foods purchased on a waitress’s salary.  Nowadays, I know better than eat processed foods.  But the Spaghetti Os still haunt me when I pass by them on the aisle at the grocery store.

So….I have “cooked up” my own recipe!

You will need noodles.  You can use whatever your favorite is, I use macaroni or, as pictured here, spaghetti noodles broken into bite sized bits.  You can also use the fun noodles, such as animal shapes!  I like to cook my noodles in chicken broth, to give them extra flavor.

 

Spaghetti Noodles

Noodles

You will also need tomato soup.  You can buy this in a can, if you wish (I use Campbell’s since I haven’t come across a tomato soup recipe I really like yet, but I add a bit of dried oregano to it).

 

Tomato Soup

Tomato Soup

I cook these in separate pots, strain the noodles, put them in a bowl and pour the soup over the noodles.

Spaghetti Soup

Faux Spaghetti Os

Try this for yourself and let me know what you think!  Do you have recipes you have made to take the place of your favorite caned pasta meals?  Share with the class!

