Girl Covered in Flour

Baking Can Get Messy

 

I was going through a cookbook a while back and ran into a recipe which called for bread flour.  At the time, I was out of bread flour and wondered about different flour substitutions to my wonderful followers on Twitter.  The consensus was, go out and purchase bread flour.  Phewy!

 

Since that time, I have had this post rattling around in my head.  I run into recipes which call for all-purpose flour and wonder if self rising flour really would work just as well?  My mawmaw and my mother never had all-purpose flour in their homes, that I can recall.  We always used self rising flour.  I never noticed a difference.  But now I’m all recipe-tester person, which means I have to be precise.  In the interest of science, maybe I will do a few experiments and make a recipe twice, each time using a different type of flour.  Stay tuned, this calls for a whole different Saturday Recipe than you are used to receiving!

 

This pondering has led me to this post.  Yes, this one.  You are reading it right now.  Aren’t you glad I let you know? 🙂  What are the different properties of each variation of flour we use in everyday baking.   For that, how the heck to they even come up with the different flours????

 

Field of Wheat

Wheat Field

 

Keep an eye out on your email or RSS feeder, folks.  I am planning on doing a whole series of posts on flour.  Why a series?  Because I can…also, when I started researching I found a TON of information on the subject.  Plus, it has captured my unschooling interest and I am following my joy with the research and learning something new.

 

What posts will be forthcoming?  We will do a post of different baking flours, we will do a post on the history of flour, a post on different milling techniques and maybe even a post on the history of milling in the US.  I told you I found a lot!!

 

